| Another Internet Email Scam |
|
|
|
|
Watch out for this one! This email almost had me convinced and I was just about to take action on it. Luckily the scammers re-used a company name that led me to an article about their domain name scam on the internet.
The text of the email read: Dear Principal, We get your name and email address from the Internet. It is glad to write to you with keen hope to open a business relationship with you in the future. We are a professional internet consultant organization in HongKong, On June 29th, 2009, we received an application formally from Pre-research Holding Ltd. They want to apply for the registration of the domain names and internet brand name "kwebdesign" from us. After our initial examination, we found that the brand name and domain names applied for registration are the same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. We need to know the comment of your company. Because the domain names and Internet brand name may relate to the copyright of brand name on internet. Now we have not finished the registration of them yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible. They want to register the Following domian names and internet brand name: kwebdesign.asia kwebdesign.net.cn kwebdesign.hk kwebdesign.jp kwebdesign.kr kwebdesign.itinternet brand name:Kwebdesign Because there is something uncertainty on this matter, to protect the original trademark owner from being infringed, we have delayed their application, and at present, these domain names are under the auditing period. If you think their registration will confuse your clients and harm your honor and profits, you believe these domains are important to you, the only way is to register them in prior, we can send a disputed application form to you and help you register these within auditing period. or we will pass their application. Have a nice working day ! Best regards, Michelle Po Domain Name Dept. HongKong Net Center TEL:00852-3072-3948 FAX:00852-3072-3949 Web:hkitos.com Email: michelle at hkito dot net I checked to website address and it appears to be legitimate but googling the company name "Pre-research Holding Ltd." brought up information about the scam. Presumably, what would follow would be a request for money to register the domain names in question. The domain names would never be registered and the money would be gone. I think it's safe to say that any unsolicited request for money or personal information received me email is a scam and should be ignored and deleted. |
| < Prev | Next > |
|---|



















